2012 Minnesota Primary Election Results in Golden Valley

Interested in Golden Valley's primary election results? So are we. Here's your election results guide.

Editor's Note: The following are unofficial results for the 2012 Minnesota primary election, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State website. Results for federal and state offices are unofficial until the state canvassing board meets on Aug. 21, 2012. County results are unofficial until canvassed Aug. 16 or 17.

A little after 8:30 p.m. on Aug. 14, less than an hour after polling booths closed, election results started trickling in. 

Overall, Hennepin County this year. Although the polls in Golden Valley saw an increase of voters from 2008. According to the Minnesota Secretary of State's website, 2,336 Golden Valley residents voted in Minnesota's primary election.

Residents voted for candidates running in State Senate District 45 and 46, and in State Legislative District 46A. Voters also participated in the  race which was a special election. 

Senate District 46 Results

Golden Valley precincts 3c, 5c, and 8b are in State Senate District 46 and State Legislative District 46A.  the Senate District 46 Republican primary with 544 votes. Roger Champagne trailed with 420 votes.  Scofield will face Democratic incumbent Sen. Ron Latz in November's general election.

Senate District 45 Results

Golden Valley precincts 1a, 2a, 4, 6 and 7b are in State Senate District 45. Republican Blair Tremere won the Senate District 45 Republican primary with 978 votes,  beating Timothy Hall by 157 votes. Democrat Ann Rest was the only candidate in her party and received 100 percent of the votes.  

Hennepin County Commissioner District 2 Results

Golden Valley's eight precincts are located in . won the race for Hennepin County Commissioner gaining 41 percent of the total votes. received 16 percent of the total votes. Golden Valley City Councilmember l raked in 1,164 votes, which accounted for 10 percent of the total votes. Results for the other seven candidates are as follows:

  • Roger Smithrud - 154 votes, 1.35 pecent overall
  • Don Samuels - 961 votes, 8.4 percent overall
  •  -  762 votes, 6.66 percent overall
  • Rolf Erickson - 662 votes, 5.78 percent overall
  •  - 615 votes, 5.37 percent overall
  •  - 311 votes, 2.72 percent overall
  • Steve Dehler - 268 votes, 2.34 percent overall

5th Congressional District Results

 (D-MN) fellow DFL challengers  and , securing 90 percent of the votes. 

U.S. Senate Results

At the U.S. Senate level, incumbent Sen. Amy Klobuchar faced a primary challenge from DFL candidates Darryl Stanton, Jack Edward Shepard and Dick Franson. Klobuchar secured a large lead ahead of the other three candidates to move onto the general election, securing 91.79 percent of the DFL votes. She will face Republican-endorsed Kurt Bills, whose Primary was a bit closer than pundits expected. Bills secured 51.1 percent of the GOP votes. 

Judicial Race Results

The two top candidates in each nonpartisan race move forward to the November 2012 election. 

Minnesota Supreme Court Chief Justice: In the Minnesota Supreme Court Chief Justice race, incumbent Lorie Skjerven Gildea along with Dan Griffith will move forward to the general election. Skjerven Gildea received nearly 50 percent of the votes, Griffith received about 29 percent of the votes. Jill Clark came in third with approximately 20 percent of the votes.

Minnesota Supreme Court Associate Chief Justice Seat 4: In the Minnesota Supreme Court Associate Chief Justice Seat 4 race, incumbent David Stras as well as Tim Tingelstad will move forward to the general election. David Stras received about 49 percent of the votes, Tingelstad received approximately 29 percent of the votes. Alan Nelson came in third with about 21 percent of the vote.

4th District Court 22 Judge: For 4th District Court 22 Judge race, Elizabeth Cutter and Steve E. Antolak will move onto the general election after beating Diane M. Krenz and Deborah Russell.

Results by Precinct

If you want to find your results by precinct, click here and search for Golden Valley.  

Forget which precinct you live in? Download the City of Golden Valley's precinct map or type your address into the Minnesota Secretary of State Polling Place Locator.

F. Eidbo August 15, 2012 at 02:03 PM
Why didn't you have any GOP or supreme court results?
Valerie Engler August 15, 2012 at 05:12 PM
F. Eidbo, just updated the results. Check it out! At midnight last night, we still didn't have all the votes for the judicial races. Wanted to wait on the other precincts to come in. Thanks!
Jacquelyn America August 17, 2012 at 06:47 AM
Patch. Again, you failed the community did not mention a Republican candidate. You are the media and have a responsibility to bring important information to the citizens of the 5th CD! Republican CHRIS FIELDS received 100% of the vote and will be running against "do nothing" Keith Ellison. Bravo Patch, great information and reporting. For more information on Chris Fields: www.chrisfieldsforcongress.com
Valerie Engler August 17, 2012 at 12:00 PM
Jacquelyn, one of the things that makes Patch unique is our ability to link to stories that are on our site, or on other sites. You'll notice that throughout this article there are various links that provide more detail on parts of the results. If you look under 5th District, you'll see that there are three links there. Please click on the second link to read a more detailed story about the 5th District results, including information about Fields. I tried to condense this story to be user-friendly since there was so much information.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »